Origami Face

Media used: origami, watercolour, inktense block

Media used: origami, watercolour, watersoluble inktense block

I’ve added some more layers of watercolour leaves to the tree and I cut up the origami to make a face for the sun. Origami itself means folding paper (‘ori’= fold, ‘gami’= paper) and strictly speaking, we are not meant to cut these origami papers into pieces but the beauty of origami activity lies in making a product merely by folding papers. However, we also have an activity called ‘Kirie’ (‘kiru’=cut,’e’=picture) which is translated as paper-cutting in English. It seems that ‘kirie’ originally was from ancient China. I’ve only used just a bit of origami papers for this illustration but I enjoyed the process a lot!

I look forward to creating more of my art with origami papers this year. Gotta run to the 100 yen shop (equivalent to $2 dollar shop in Australia!) in Japan for more origami papers when I return home! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Origami Face

    • Thank you Annie! You’ve been one of the greatest supporter towards my art. Comment as such really keeps me going and motivates me to create better and continue what I do. x

Leave a Reply

